Wright Spirit Award Recipients Announced

Four recipients representing the private, professional, public domain and special honors categories have been selected by the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy to receive Wright Spirit Awards. The awards will be presented on Saturday, September 24, during the Conservancy’s 2011 conference in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Introduced in 1991, the Wright Spirit Award recognizes the efforts of extraordinary individuals and organizations that have preserved the legacy of Frank Lloyd Wright through their tireless dedication and persistent efforts. This year’s recipients include Jim Phaneuf and Jean Hoffman for their stewardship and ongoing restoration of the 1940 Wright-designed Baird House in Amherst, Massachusetts (private category); Tom Kubala and Allen Washatko of Kubala Washatko Architects, Inc. for their very sensitive and elegant LEED Gold-rated addition to Wright’s 1947 Unitarian Meeting House in Shorewood Hills, Wisconsin (professional category); the Allen-Lambe House Foundation and Howard W. Ellington for the restoration and increased accessibility of the 1917 Wright-designed Allen-Lambe House in Wichita, Kansas (public domain category); and PrairieMod for their extensive media coverage and sensitive handling of Wright preservation and advocacy issues (special honors category).

To learn more about the individual recipients,
check the Wright Spirit Award Page.

>> close window