Nominated for election to the Board of Directors of the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy

Directors will be elected at the 2011 annual meeting. Members will receive written notice of the time and place of the meeting. The nominating committee, in compliance with Article V, Section 15 of the Bylaws,
proposes the following slate to the membership for election to the Board of Directors:

Diane S. Belden
Diane Belden is Senior Sales Representative for Tai Ping Carpets Americas Inc., based in Los Angeles, CA. Tai Ping is the parent company of legendary American carpet company Edward Fields Carpet Makers. Edward Fields' original carpets can be found in architectural landmarks and notable private residences around the country.

Ms. Belden is the former First Vice President on the Board of Directors of Friends of Hollyhock House, Inc. in Los Angeles. Since 1978, Friends of Hollyhock House has worked to increase the publicís awareness of the history of the Frank Lloyd Wright-designed Hollyhock House (1919-1921) and original client Aline Barnsdallís contribution to the City of Los Angeles. The non-profit organization has raised funds for restoration projects for the house and schedules lectures and events promoting the preservation of this national treasure.

As a member of the Board of Friends of Hollyhock House, Ms. Belden coordinated the creation of new custom carpets that reproduced the original carpets in the living room, dining room, and hallways of Hollyhock House.

Ms. Belden received her B.A. degree from Lake Forest College. She has been an active volunteer in the Junior League of Los Angeles.

Dale Allen Gyure,Ph.D.
Dale Gyure is Associate Professor of Architecture at Lawrence Technological University, where he teaches classes in architectural history and theory, and Adjunct Professor of Historic Preservation at Goucher College, where he teaches a course in American architectural history and serves as co-director of the master's thesis program.

Dr. Gyure is author of the definitive book on Frank Lloyd Wright's campus for Florida Southern College, entitled Frank Lloyd Wright's Florida Southern College. The campus represents the largest single-site collection of Wright's architecture. He is also author of the recently-published book The Chicago Schoolhouse, 1856-2006: High School Architecture and Educational Reform.

Dr. Gyure is a member of Society of Architectural Historians and the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy, and has served on conference planning committees and as a conference presenter for both organizations.

Dr. Gyure received his Ph.D. in Architectural History from the University of Virginia. He has also received a M.Arch.H. in Architectural History from the University of Virginia, a J.D. in Law from Indiana University and a B.S. in Psychology from Ball State University.

T. Gunny Harboe, FAIA
Gunny Harboe is founder and principal of his own architectural firm, Harboe Architects, PC. Harboe Architects focuses on historic architecture that requires preservation, restoration, rehabilitation or adaptive reuse.

Mr. Harboe has gained a national reputation for his award-winning work on the Rookery and Reliance Buildings in Chicago. Both projects received national Honor Awards from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Mr. Harboe is a past national board member of the AIA, as a Regional Director from Illinois. He is also a Past President of AIA Chicago. His other volunteer activities include serving as a founding member and current Vice President of the ICOMOS ISC on 20th Century Heritage, past Vice President of the Landmarks Preservation Council of Illinois, and past Vice President of DOCOMOMO-US, where he currently remains a board member.

Mr. Harboe is a registered architect, having received his Masters in Architecture degree from MIT. He has also received an M.Sc. in Historic Preservation from Columbia University and an A.B. in History from Brown University.

Mary F. Roberts
Mary Roberts is Executive Director for the Martin House Restoration Corporation in Buffalo, New York, where she also serves as an officer on the corporation's board of directors.

The Martin House Restoration Corporation is a non-profit organization formed in 1992 to restore Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin Estate (1903-1905). This $50 million, multi-year project commenced in 1997 and continues today, representing the largest restoration of a Wright building ever undertaken.

Restoration of the Martin House complex has included the re-creation of original buildings that were removed from the property, as well as the construction of a new visitors welcome and interpretive center. The final phase (Phase V) of the project, including the restoration of the interior of the Martin House, is scheduled for completion in October, 2011. The non-profit organization also conducts the fundraising and ongoing tours, operations and events to support this historic house museum.

Ms. Roberts serves on the Board of Directors of the Buffalo Niagara Convention & Visitors Bureau, where she sits on the executive and budget/finance/audit committees.

A life-long resident of the region and a graduate of Canisius College, Ms. Roberts lives in the city of Buffalo with her husband, Thomas, an attorney in private practice. They have three children, all of whom work and reside in the city of Buffalo.

The nominating committee also proposes the following slate of current board members to be nominated to serve an additional term as director:

For a second three-year term:
Deborah Vick.

Continuing Directors
Board members continuing their terms in 2011-12 are: Jim Blair, Ron Burkle, Christian Busch, Ron Duplack, Joanne Kohn, Leo Koonmen, Neil Levine, Susan Jacobs Lockhart, Richard Longstreth, Pat Mahoney, Debra Nemeth, Edith Payne, Scott Perkins, Jack Quinan, Ron Scherubel, John Thorpe, Tom Wadlow and Lynda Waggoner. Larry Woodin is continuing to serve, per the bylaws, through an addition of two years to a third term to permit the director to serve a two-year term as an officer.

Retiring Directors
The Conservancy extends its deepest appreciation to those directors leaving the board in September 2011: Richard Cleary, Jack Holzhueter and Steve Sikora.

>> close window