2015 Wright Spirit Awards Presented As Sold-Out Milwaukee Conference Concludes

For the second year in a row, the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy's annual conference drew capacity crowds from all over the United States, Canada and Japan for five days of tours (more than 15 Wright buildings were on view, including a surprise stop at the newly discovered 1917 American System-Built Elizabeth Murphy House), educational presentations, a special dinner for owners of Wright homes and workers at Wright public sites, and of course the presentation of our annual Wright Spirit Awards.

There were five honorees this year, and awards were presented by the person who submitted the nomination. They included Eugene Szymczak, owner of the Thomas Hardy House (1905) in Racine, for his thorough restoration of the house; SC Johnson for its stalwart stewardship of its signature Wright-designed buildings, restoration and opening to the public of its Research Tower, and continued commitment to creating important architectural works; Joseph M. Siry, William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of the Humanities at Wesleyan University, for his 30-plus years of lecturing and publishing on Wright’s work; Glenn and Mary Schnadt (accepted in absentia by Darlo Wentz) by for their role in saving Wright’s A.D. German Warehouse and donating it back to the Richland Center community for restoration; and Robert and Bonnie McCoy for their leadership in the effort to save and fully restore Wright’s Stockman House, City National Bank and Park Inn Hotel, and other works by important architectural figures.

Visit PrairieMod for blog coverage of the 2015 conference Day 1, Day 2 and Day 3. You can also read about our special pre-conference tour to the Schwartz House for its 75th anniversary here.

>>>Be sure to visit the Conservancy on Flickr to see photos from the 2015 conference.

Nominations for the 2016 Wright Spirit Awards will be available here soon. The presentation will be made during the gala at our 2016 conference in San Francisco, Nov. 2-6. Registration for that conference will be available beginning in June 2016.

>> close window